My favorite Weirds…

Musician

It’s almost impossible for me to pick out a favorite Weird Al Yankovic song because every song I hear him do is my favorite while I’m listening to it.  However, “Bob” has a special place in my heart.

Back when I was a young cub and playing gigs in bars and such, I did a lot of humorous songs.  But one that I performed never found an audience.  It was a Bob Dylan tribute song where I sang unrelated phrases (and made up words) in an imitation of Bob Dylan style.  I don’t know if I was just too early or what, but I do know that Al’s version is way better than mine.  He not only made a perfect video parody of Dylan’s “Subterranean Homesick Blues”,  but he made each nonsense phrase a palindrome.  And that takes talent, way more than I have.  So I love him for it — even if he did steal the basic idea from me.

My second favorite is “CNR“.  I watched Charles Nelson Riley (the subject of the song) all through his career, and I was only luke-warm about his abilities for most of that time. But right at the end of his life he turned up a couple of times on “X Files” where he played an outrageous character that I just fell in love with.  Then this song came out, and I went nuts.  Something about the combination of Weird Al, an animated CNR, and a really good rock song makes me smile, big time, every time I watch this video.

Unfortunately for me, Al’s organization keeps a close grip on his videos, so you’ll have to go to YouTube to watch them.  But please do, if you’re a fan of music, Weird Al, or fun.  It’s worth your time…

One thought on “My favorite Weirds…

Leave a Reply

