Dead parrot in paradise…

ThinkeringI was watching a BBC mystery show the other night that had recently thrown me a curve.  It’s called “Death in Paradise” and I had finally decided that I liked the show (which has a problem deciding whether it’s a comedy or a drama), when the main character suddenly left and was replaced with a completely different personality.  So now I’m stuck with the same sort of “Do I really want to waste my time watching this drek?” question that I face all the time.  (Note: the answer is usually “yes”, but I like having the conversation with myself since I don’t have anyone else with whom to talk.)

Anyway, at the end of the episode, which had centered around a bird watcher getting killed while trying to spot a wild parrot that eventually turned out to be extinct, in the background during the fadeout, two minor characters started up Monty Python’s “Dead Parrot” routine.  In case you’ve forgotten, it’s the routine that, when performed before the Queen, made her squirt milk out of her nose.

If, on the other hand, you’re one of the few people in the universe that’s never seen the routine, here it is (you poor, benighted fool, you):

For anyone who even remembers what I was thinkerin’ about, you’ll be happy to know that “Death in Paradise” is back on my viewing list.   I decided that any show that allows their writers the leeway to insert Monty Python into the scripts is okay with me…

Leave a Reply

